Stainsby & Vaughan crowned Lawrence Bell Memorial Champions

Last night saw the ‘Lawrence Bell Memorial’ come to a close, with the top 16 men and top 2 ladies battling out for the two titles and a £1,500+ prize fund on offer.

The mens draw was seeds v non seeds for the last 16 games then it was F.A Cup draw for the remainder of the competition.

Tyne & Wear County player Chris Vaughan defeated Keith Wright in the first game before knocking out James Forster in the quarters. Carrying on his good form he beat Dave Prins in a tense semi final that went the distance in a best of 5 sets match.

Vaughan was crowned Lawrence Bell 2018 Champion defeating Butch 3-2 (sets) in the final.

In the Ladies final, Claire Stainsby was the new name on the shield, defeating 5 times reigning champion Linda Ithurralde by 3 sets to 1.

Well done to both Chris and Claire.

Mens Results –

Last 16

Adam Hunt beat Andy Allaker
Chris Vaughan beat Keith Wright
Dave Prins beat Paul Williams
Davey Thompson beat Mark Reeves
Michael McBain beat Richard Selby
Butch beat Craig Anderson
Gary Miller beat Stephen Mallams
James Forster beat Gerry Hall


Butch beat Adam Hunt
Chris Vaughan beat James Forster
Dave Prins beat Gary Miller
Davey Thompson beat Michael McBain


Butch beat Davey Thompson
Chris Vaughan beat Dave Prins


Chris Vaughan 3-2 Butch