Hollywood takes the title

(L-R Ray Marshall, Chris Dobey, Daniel Gowens)

Report from Daniel Gowens –

” Absolutely fantastic night for finals night.

£970 paid out between 24 players.

Round 1 between weekly runners up and points qualifiers

Malcolm Cooper 1-4 Kieran Clements
Michael Tunstall 0-4 Ryan Anderson
Michael Tuck 1-4 Andy Goodfellow (including a missed dart for a 9 darter)
John Blackburn 0-4 Ian Cooper
Alistair Kerr 0-4 Chris Dobey
Lewis Mayes 4-0 Sara Gowens
Matty Holmes 0-4 Raymond Marshall
Scott North East Darts 4-2 Shaun Pomeroy

Round 2 weekly winners enter

A.Goodfellow 4-0 L.Mayes
Tony Procter 0-4 C.Dobey
R.Anderson 1-4 Adam Hunt
Reece Aitman 1-4 Ryan Joyce
Chris Harvey 4-3 Tony Wood (Cracking game)
R.Marshall 4-2 William Billythedwarf Robson
K.Clements 2-4 John Kippen
I.Cooper 4-3 S.Hunt

Quarter final

A.Hunt 5-0 R.Marshall
C.Dobey 5-1 C.Harvey
I.Cooper 5-4 J.Kippen
R.Joyce 5-3 A.Goodfellow

Semi final

R.Joyce 5-2 I.Cooper
C.Dobey 5-1 A.Hunt


C.Dobey 6-3 R.Joyce.

Thank you everyone for coming out tonight and the past 4 weeks.

Been great to see a great standard of darts, and a decent crowd for darts tonight.
Hopefully Prudhoe will become a hotbed of Darts in the future.

Also, massive thanks to Ray Marshall for helping me, and my team of glamorous assistants Sara Gowens, Sarah Higgins and Rebecca Best for doing the draws and helping me raise funds”

MAD Competitions in August

A total of 10 competitions in August throughout the North East are carrying MAD Ranking points.

Benefits of registering with MAD (£5 per player for the year) and climbing the MAD ranking system –

  • Top 10 Players in the North East invited to MAD Majors (£2,000+ prize fund) (Cut off dates TBC)
  • Top player in the North East will be invited to a National Playoff for a WORLD TITLE SHOT and an opportunity to gain a subsidised PDC QSchool spot
  • Top Player in the North East will gain free entry and accommodation to Winmau European Open in December. £30,000 prize fund.

Competition organisers – To register your event with MAD is completely free! Get in touch.

More opportunities to come….sign up today.


North East Darts TV is Live!

For many of us, as soon as the pubs shut due to COVID-19, we thought of all the competitions and leagues that we would be missing out on and more importantly the craic with your mates!

Ali Patton, an avid darts fan like myself, started a league as soon as the pubs closed, between a few mates that all play in a Friday night league in the Birtley/Chester-le-Street area. This kept everyone sane and playing competitively, as well as keeping in touch with everyone.

The idea of playing online was new to many of us, even though its been operating in the form of ‘Webcam Darts’ for many years. We all experimented with our set ups to hold our cameras in place, using shelves/fridges/light poles/selfie sticks…….even tons of board games piled up and your phone in your son’s footie boot to keep the phone straight (Gary Lomas).

I first started running online competitions on March 24th, the day after Lockdown officially started in the UK, with a 64 capped tournament, to be able to make sure things ran as smooth as possible. The main problem was defining the rules of the competition, including the timings, as trying to liaise with 64 people in their homes was the main stumbling block. I believe it was a big success and allowed me to move onto bigger and more interesting concepts.
From that first competition, I’ve ran several big competitions now with the help of a few friends, including a Four Man Team Knockout with the likes of Chris Dobey, Scott Waites, Adam Hunt, Callan Rydz and Leighton Bennett.

I believe I was the first to experiment with the Online Pairs concept with all four participants in a ‘four way video call’. This allowed me to introduce a pairs competition featuring the likes of Glen Durrant and Luke Humphries, as well as the rest of the North East professionals.

I had an idea to stream the live games direct to Facebook, as many players in USA/Iceland currently do (and very well I must say). Playing around with different ideas, the easiest and most effective way for myself was to ‘Share my screen’ and go live via Facebook.

This proved to be very popular, with people enjoying watch live competitive games from the comfort of their own home. Following on from this initial idea, I downloaded some software to allow me to stream properly via Facebook and YouTube. However, my laptop is a few years old now and wasn’t able to cope!

I had a chat with Matthew Hodgson regarding my problems with this and we chatted about the possibility of doing this together. He very much has the same interest in darts as myself and enjoys being involved in every aspect.
(Matthew has a top system that allows us to do everything we need to do and more!)

From this, we have created ‘North East Darts TV’ and can now officially announce our YouTube channel is LIVE.
We have covered many games so far over a fantastic launch weekend and will continue to do so in the coming weeks/months.

Our ideas will not stop after lockdown and are looking to bring live streaming direct to the local competitions and leagues, to allow the amateur players to be broadcasted! This is a huge step for local darts and I hope you will all support us in our journey.

Please subscribe to our channel, which is COMPLETELY FREE and stay tuned for some great content coming up!

YouTube channel HERE (Subscribe for FREE)
Facebook page HERE


The Jackal wins at Wolsingham

Carl ‘The Jackal’ Hamilton defeated Graham Robertson in the final at the Wolsingham Open and scooped the £350 first prize.

Last 8 Results – 49 Entries

Billy Robson bt Gary Hutchinson
Graham Robertson bt Lee Morton
Chris Kitch bt Tony Wood
Carl Hamilton bt Will Thexton

Semis –

Graham Robertson bt Billy Robson
Carl Hamilton bt Chris Kitch

Final –

Carl Hamilton bt Graham Robertson

2020 Ladbrokes UK Open

Stage during the Ladbrokes Uk Open 2019 at Butlins Minehead, United Kingdom on 2 March 2019.

2020 Ladbrokes UK Open kicks off tomorrow in Butlins, Minehead.

Round 1 –
Adam Hunt vs Karel Sedlacek (approx 12pm) – Stage Two – (Live on PDC.TV)

Callan Rydz vs Shane McGuirk (approx 11.30am) – Stage Seven

Round 3 –
Ryan Joyce v Jacques/Teehan/Meeuwisse (Approx 3.30pm) – Stage Five

Round 4 –
Chris Dobey & Glen Durrant enter at this stage with the draw live on ITV4.

McDine wins in Aycliffe

Kev McDine took the title at ‘The Turbinia’ in Newton Aycliffe on Saturday, battling past 50 other players for £250 1st Prize.

Results –

Last 8

Terry Temple BT Geoff Murray
Kevin McDine by Gary Miller
Eddie Mordica bt Daz Johnson
Will Thexton bt Craige Nixon


Kevin McDine bt Terry Temple
Will Thexton bt Eddie Mordica


Kevin McDine bt Will Thexton

*Please send me results from competitions to keep the site updated*

Seahorse, Whitley Bay Results

Results courtesy of Andrew Cochrane –

1st half:

Last 8

Ray marshell 3 Anthony Hasson 0
Gary Miller 0 Mark Stephenson 3
Neil walton 2 Paul Nesbitt 3
Alan Davie 3 David Porritt 2


Mark Stephenson 1 Paul Nesbitt 3
Alan Davie bt Ray Marshall (sorry no score recorded)


Alan davie 4 (25.73) Paul Nesbitt 2 (24.95)

2nd half:

Last 8

Ray Marshall 2 Chris Mathews 3
Andy Lynn 3 Ian Gleeson 0
Alan Young 1 Paul Nesbitt 3
Alan Davie 3 Mala Foster 0


Andy Lynn 2 Chris Mathews 3
Alan Davie 3 Paul Nesbitt 1


Chris Mathews 4 (24.23) Alan Davie 3 (22.94)

McClurg Scaffolding Ltd Continue to Sponsor North East Darts for 2020

Thank you to James Mcclurg of McClurg scaffolding ltd for the continued support into 2020.

McClurg Scaffolding have sponsored the NorthEastDarts website from 2017 including the two well supported, McClurg Scaffolding Ltd Darts Opens in 2018 and 2019. I look forward to working with James on more big events in the future!

Please find more information about McClurg Scaffolding Ltd HERE