Supa Mc on a roll

On Saturday 19th May, players from all over the North-East participated in the inaugral ‘Tommy & David Dodds Memorial Open’ and saw a great crowd in attendance. The competition featured a Mens and Ladies competition along with a furthest u17 youth prize.

Kevin McDine continued his recent form by picking up his 3rd title in as many weeks.

En route to the final he defeated Alan Stevenson, Shaun Matthews and Stephen Mallams before dispatching Michael McBain 4-2 to set up a semi final contest again fellow Geordie, Andy Parks. McDine proved too strong for Parks by whitewashing him 4-0.

There was a small break in the competition to honour the life of David Dodds and a new memorial plaque presented in the Legion Bar to thank David for his loyalty and success in darts. The plaque is next to his brother’s, Tommy.

The final took place afterwards with Kevin McDine defeating Butch Knighton 5-1, to be crowned the 2018 champion and presented with a Memorial Shield and the first Tommy & David Dodds Memorial Trophy.

(Mens Shield, Ladies Shield and Winner/Runner up Trophies for both competitions proudly sponsored by Cliffy Johnson)

AnnMarie Potts took the ladies title defeating Linda Ithurralde 4-3 and to be crowned the First Ladies Champion of the competition.

Both Trophies meant a lot to the players and will be treasured for a long time.

Young Tyne & Wear County player, Jack Male went the furthest in the competition out of the youth in attendance, bowing out in the last 16 and picking up a prize.


Lastly, thank you to everyone that bought raffle tickets and so on, as we made a fantastic £400 for the two charities close to the hearts of the Dodds family.

Thank you to everyone that attended on Saturday and celebrated the life of both Tommy & David. I am sure this competition will begin to grow and be cemented as one of the best in the North East calendar.

(Photos Courtesy of Fergus Easton – Thank you very much)

Results below –

Last 16 –

Kev McDine beat Stephen Mallams
Michael McBain beat Jack Male
Andy Parks beat Paul Telford
Andy Allaker beat Keith Cresser
Sean Johnson beat Phil Borthwick
Dave Prins beat Scott Collingwood
George Davidson beat Gary Miller
Butch beat Angie McDonald

Quarters –

Kev McDine 4-2 Michael McBain
Andy Parks 4-1 Andy Allaker
Sean Johnson 4-3 Dave Prins
Butch 4-2 George Davison

Semis –

Kev McDine 4-0 Andy Parks
Butch 4-2 Sean Johnson

Final –

Kev McDine 5-1 Butch

Ladies –

Semis –

Linda Ithurralde beat Laura Patton
AnnMarie Potts beat Angie McDonald


AnnMarie Potts 4-3 Linda Ithurralde