Festive Roundup – Competition Winners

As we enter 2018 and the new diary dates released, we look back on the final competition winners of 2017 over the festive break.
(The results uploaded are the only ones I have been sent or from the competitions I have attended. If there is any more updates, please contact me via Facebook or info@northeastdarts.com)

Woody’s hat-trick of wins in December.

Following on from winning the 8 Week competitions at ‘The Railway, Spennymoor’ and ‘Cottles, WIllington’, Tony wood won his third competition of December by defeating Butch 4-2 in the Final of the Annfield Plain Demi Xmas Open on 27th December. There was 40 entries on the day.

Impressive win for Gordon!

Blyth Comrades Open put together by Darren Shields on 28th December featured an outstanding turn out of 124 men, 17 women and 17 youth.

The overall winner battling through a tough field was Gordon Dobey who defeated Ryan Joyce 4-0 in the final.

In the ladies, Ann-Marie Potts overcame Joy Wanless 3-0 to take the ladies title.

Lastly, in the youth, local lad Drew Mole beat Durham youngster Kieron Plews 3-1 for the win.

Results from the Men’s (last 16 onwards)-

Darren Gray bt Jimmy Tanny 3 1
Stevo bt Tug 3 2
Gordon Dobey bt Davy Wilson 3 0
Simon Tate bt Chris Lisle 3 2
Micky Ord bt Gow 3 1
I Dawson bt Sam Gibson 3 2
Alan Davie bt Kenny Phillipson 3 1
Ryan Joyce bt N Stephenson 3 0

Last 8
D Gray bt Stevo 3 2
G Dobey bt S Tate 3 1
M Ord bt Dawson 3 1
Ryan Joyce bt Alan Davie 3 2


G Dobey bt D Gray 3 2
R. Joyce bt M Ord 3 2


G. Dobey bt R. Joyce 4 0

Ladies Semis

Joy Wanless bt Maxine McGee 3 1
Annmarie Potts bt Clare Tired 3 1


Annmarie Potts bt Joy Wanless 3 0

Youth Final

Drew mole bt Kieron Plews 3 1


Borthwick wins at Crook!

Durham man Phil Borthwick battled through over 40 entries on 28th December evening to take the title of Crook Hotel Xmas Open.
On the way to the final Phil beat R. Bloomfield in the last 32 before beating local player Chris Kitch in the last 16. Moving into the last 8, he brushed past Durham County player George Davison 4-1 before setting up a tasty game against Butch.
Phil carried on his fine form winning 4 legs to 2 in the semis setting up a cracking final v Dave Prins.
With Prins taking the first 3 legs, with the contest best of 9, Borthwick looked down and out before winning 5 straight legs on the bounce to take the win.

Results from Last 16 onwards –

T. Wood bt A. Bell
Butch bt J. Kirkland
G. Davison bt J. Forster
P. Borthwick bt. C. Kitch
D. Prins bt B. Longstaff
S. Hunt bt M. Stewart
K. Wright bt M. Hutchinson
E. Mordica bt A. Hauxwell

Quarter Finals

Butch 4-2 T. Wood
P. Borthwick 4-1 G. Davison
D. Prins 4-0 S. Hunt
K Wright 4-1 E. Mordica

Semi Finals

P. Borthwick 4-2 Butch
D. Prins 4-3 K. Wright


P. Borthwick 5-3 D. Prins

Joyce makes it 3 in December!

Ryan Joyce carried on his fine form by winning the first ranking event of the 2017/2018 Tyne Masters season at Forest Hall on Saturday 30th December.

Results –

Winner Ryan Joyce
R/up Dave Prins
Semi’s Kev McDine & Allan Edwards
1/4’s  Adam Shanks, Andy Lynn, Chris Gill & Neil Rose
L16  Shaun Brown, Fish, Geoff Murray, Andy Bennett, Shaun Matthews, Ant Skelton, Gary Lomas & Phil Borthwick.

2 in 2 days for Relentless!

To make it 4 competition wins in December, Ryan Joyce beat Tyne & Wear player Geoff Murray in the final of Byker New Years Day competition.

Results –

Winner Ryan Joyce
R/up Geoff Murray
Semi’s Ray Foreman & Andy Parks.
1/4’s Andy Allaker, Chris Matthews, Darren Patton, Paul Dinning.

AnnMarie Potts makes it two wins in a week to take the ladies title.

Ladies Winner AnnMarie Potts
R/up Debbie Waugh Xfluffyx
Semi’s Sarah & Tasha.


Prins wins at Bonnie Pitt lad on NYD!

Another competition held on New Years Day was the Bonnie Pitt Lad Handicap ran by Craig Anderson.

Dave Prins saw off teesside player Jordan Matthews in the final.

Results –

Last 8
Craig Anderson beat David Thompson
Jordan Mathews beat mick mcbain
Dave Prins beat Paul Williams
Micky Thornhill beat David Morris

Last 4
Jordan Mathews beat Craig Anderson
Dave Prins beat micky Thornhill

Final Dave Prins beat Jordan Mathews

Winner Dave Prins.