Borthwick, Champion of the Globe!

Fresh off the back of a long week at PDC Q-School, Consett thrower Phil ‘Philyerboots’ Borthwick comes out on top of a 52 player field that included the likes of Ryan Joyce and Adam Hunt.

As usual, the Globe FA Cup competition provided some tasty draws in the early rounds. Ryan Joyce faced Jack Pattinson in a prelim game, with Jack recently putting in a good performance at Q-School and narrowly missed out on the second stage. Pattinson carried on his fine form and battled back from 2-1 down to defeat Joyce 3-2.
Davey Gradwell battled back against Adam Hunt, in another prelim game, coming back from 2-1 down himself, to take the victory.

There was a fantastic mix of talent in the room from all over the North East, with Gary Hayes and Gary Stephens traveling up from Middlesbrough and Jack Pattinson making the hour-long trip from Allendale, South West Northumberland.

As we moved into the later stages, the last 16 onwards was ‘Best of 7’. Gary Hayes registered an estimated 104 average in a 4-0 whitewash of Ryan Hanratty. Northumberland County player, Andy Parks came from 3-2 down to beat Scott Hunt 4-3. Borthwick was taken to a last-leg decider by Tyne & Wear Youth player, Mason Harmer, but came out victorious.

The semi-finals produced some great games, with Borthwick and Davie fighting through to face each other in the Globe Final.

A crucial break in the latter stages of the final was enough for ‘Philyerboots’ to take the £240 winners prize and a Bottle of Grey Goose for his efforts!

As always, a great day The Globe, Gateshead. Well ran by Craig Larvin and fantastic hospitality from Ian and Michelle. We’re back at The Globe on Saturday 19th February.

Next event on the diary is the Winmau Sky Lounge Ranking Event this Saturday. Currently at 100 entries – Enter HERE.

Last 16 Results –

Andy Parks 4-3 Scott Hunt
Phil Borthwick 4-3 Mason Harmer
Gary Hayes 4-0 Ryan Hanratty
Alan Davie 4-0 Shaun Cole
Paul Nesbitt 4-2 John Kippen
Jack Pattinson 4-2 Andy Chalmers
Billy Robson 4-2 Stephen Mallams
Micky Rathbone 4-1 Stephen Glister

Last 8 – £25

Jack Pattinson 4-2 Paul Nesbitt
Phil Borthwick 4-1 Andy Parks
Alan Davie 4-2 Gary Hayes
Billy Robson 4-1 Micky Rathbone

Semis – £60

Phil Borthwick 4-2 Jack Pattinson
Alan Davie 4-2 Billy Robson

Final – £240 Winner / £120 Runner up

Phil Borthwick 4-2 Alan Davie