Bell retains the Consett Masters Trophy

The 2018 Consett Masters  concluded on Saturday 14th April with Alan Bell retaining his title with a superb 2-0 (sets) win against Durham County player, Gary Miller.

The competition consists of an f.a cup style draw every qualifying round, that has to be played over a 2 week period that began back in February. Over 80 entrants made for a great tournament, with the last 16 on Saturday battling out for the top prize.

It took place at The Grove & Moorside Club in Consett, with a great crowd in attendance to see local lads along with players from a far competing in a set play format.

Alan Bell defeated Carl Hamilton, Eddie Mordica and Stevie Annan en route to the final where he defeated Gary Miller. The final set included great darts with Alan taking out 132 (bull, bull, d16) followed by a 170 in the next leg.

Great competition ran by Stephen Bainbridge.

It is open to any player, but the rules are you need to play from a venue in the Consett/Stanley area. 2019 details will be released later this year.

Results –

Last 16

Simon Errington v Gary Miller 0-3 1-3 (0-2)
Carl Hamilton v Alan Bell 0-3 1-3 (0-2)
Paul Lawson v Ian Cullen 2-3 3-1 (0-2)
Stephen Bainbridge v Eddie Mordica 0-3 1-3 (0-2)
Andy Testo v David Crawley 1-3 3-2 2-3 (1-2)
Jimmy Appleyard v Stevie Annan 1-3 0-3 (0-2)
Steven Dixon v Raymond Foreman 3-0 2-3 0-3 (1-2)
Andy Allaker v Chris Cooke 3-2 3-0 (2-0)


Andy Allaker v David Crawley 2-3 1-3 (0-2)
Stevie Annan v Ray Foreman 3-0 3-0 (2-0)
Alan Bell v Eddie Mordica 3-1 1-3 3-2 (2-1)
Gary Miller v Ian Cullen 1-3 3-1 3-2 (2-1)


Gary Miller v David Crawley 3-2 3-1 (2-0)
Alan Bell v Stevie Annan 3-1 3-1 (2-0)


Gary Miller v Alan Bell 1-3 2-3 (0-2)


Runner up – Gary Miller

Champion – ALAN BELL